Rivers of London Recommended by Sian

 

RiversLet me start off by saying how much I loved this book! It was recommended by a  library staff member who mocked my northern accent by saying what part of Wales are you from. He explained that this was a Cityread 2015 book and  I’d enjoy it as it paints London in a unique way and he was not wrong!!! While I’ve only lived in London 6 months, I was actually able to pick out some of the places and routes Peter describes from memory. I’ve sadly found myself going back to some of the locations to visit   the ones described in the book (again). I want to go back to Trafalgar Square and see whether there really is a plaque on one of the lion’s bums and I want to visit the Actor’s Church and revisit Convent Garden. Aaronovitch manages to capture London’s spirit in such a way that it comes off the page dances over your eyes and makes you want to keep on reading.

Rivers of London is filled with a great cast of characters. Peter is extremely likeable and it’s easy to care about what happens to him. He comes across as one of your mates and that is the tone the novel is told in as well. As if you’ve ended up in a pub – Peter’s a copper, where else? – and he’s telling you the story of his first six months as a full DC. His governor, Chief Inspector Nightingale is your prototype kindly, wise mentor and his interactions with Peter are great fun. The banter between Peter and his two leading ladies, Lesley and Beverly is awesome. Both of these ladies are funny, independent and great matches for Peter, so much so that I didn’t know who to root for in this little triangle. However, there is a lot of background information on these characters still left to be discovered. Hopefully, in the next book they will become a little more fleshed-out in this respect. There are some characters I really hope we see more of. I’d like to see more of DC Stephanopoulos and find out whether she really is the hard-ass everyone makes her out to be or whether the glimpse we saw during Peter’s interview – of the little girl in the pink room filled with stuffed unicorns – is the true Stephanopoulos.

City of London Libraries

